Pour accéder à toutes les fonctionnalités de ce site, vous devez activer JavaScript. Voici les instructions pour activer JavaScript dans votre navigateur Web. Brigitte Bauer - Haus Hof Land

Haus Hof Land
Read the text | Diaporama | Back to gallery


  • Brigitte Bauer’s images have no other artifice but intention. And a framing of which she alone holds the secret. Emotions, stories, the unspoken, revelations and sometimes an aspiration to an undefined otherworldliness seem to emanate from them constantly.

    After the book D’Allemagne, published in 2003, this new collection of unpublished photographs is presented under the title of Haus Hof Land (house farm land). This could seem more intimate and more personal. Nothing of the sort. Quite the contrary. Distance grows. Coyness develops. And detachment leaves room to the spectator who can read, even discover, their own journey. The eye slowly reveals.

    From images suspended without being immobile, full of breath and breathing, emerge these strange and sometimes rough emotions, the kind felt by the uprooted. Love and worry, detachment and attachment, the critical gaze and unconditional tenderness, the link with childhood which is different for each person, inseparable from a place, smells, tastes, colours that we have left behind, that no longer belong to us but which have made up who we are. It is impossible not to feel on a tightrope all the time, torn between what is the past and those future choices which have taken us elsewhere, between impalpable but omnipresent memories, old and new. 

    Some take their childhood with them. They stay attached to it. It serves them as a pendulum. They fall in line with a continuity which they pass on to their own offspring. Others are cut off from it. How does that affect the view we have of our own personal history? And in an even broader sense, what incidence does it have on the view we have of History? Are we automatically more adult having left behind us the traces, memories and attachments to childhood? Does leaving your community equal a rite of passage? 

    Childhood is supposed to form us. And yet. When we cut ourselves off from our roots, it’s our own experiences that predominate. We forge our identity precisely through the outlook which detaches us. Childhood thus takes on a taste both sweet and sour, even perturbing, and the link with childhood develops in this detachment like a battle between what we have been, what we would have liked to have been and what we would like to be.

    Brigitte Bauer offers us her sensitive perspective on this highly delicate and fragile process of detachment, of becoming adult and of growing into freedom. 

    From reference to traditions to the impact of the religious (whether empty or full), from tastes and smells of one’s land to spaces conquered by the force of dream, from the continuity of life with all its glitches, from the scrutiny without concession that nature subjects us to, everything is evoked and is rooted in our own emotions: liberty is a fragile space which should never lock tenderness and attention in too tight a stranglehold. 

    Annakarin Quinto, April 2017


    Haus Hof Land
    Read the text | Back to gallery

    HHL 01, 1987-2017

     formats et supports variables



    HHL 03, 1987-2017

    formats et supports variables



    HHL 08, 1987-2017

    formats et supports variables



    HHL 13, 1987-2017

    formats et supports variables



    HHL 14, 1987-2017

    formats et supports variables



    HHL 16, 1987-2017

    formats et supports variables



    HHL 20, 1987-2017

    formats et supports variables



    HHL 22, 1987-2017

    formats et supports variables



    HHL 27, 1987-2017

    formats et supports variables



    HHL 30, 1987-2017

    formats et supports variables



    HHL 31, 1987-2017

    formats et supports variables



    HHL 33, 1987-2017

    formats et supports variables



    HHL 34, 1987-2017

    formats et supports variables



    HHL 38, 1987-2017

    formats et supports variables



    HHL 40, 1987-2017

    formats et supports variables



    HHL 41, 1987-2017

    formats et supports variables



    HHL 43, 1987-2017

    formats et supports variables



    HHL 49, 1987-2017

    formats et supports variables



    HHL 54, 1987-2017

    formats et supports variables



    HHL 55, 1987-2017

    formats et supports variables



    HHL 58, 1987-2017

    formats et supports variables



    HHL 60, 1987-2017

    formats et supports variables



    HHL 64, 1987-2017

    formats et supports variables



    HHL 66, 1987-2017

    formats et supports variables



    Haus Hof Land
    1987-2017

    Brigitte Bauer’s images have no other artifice but intention. And a framing of which she alone holds the secret. Emotions, stories, the unspoken, revelations and sometimes an aspiration to an undefined otherworldliness seem to emanate from them constantly.

    After the book D’Allemagne, published in 2003, this new collection of unpublished photographs is presented under the title of Haus Hof Land (house farm land). This could seem more intimate and more personal. Nothing of the sort. Quite the contrary. Distance grows. Coyness develops. And detachment leaves room to the spectator who can read, even discover, their own journey. The eye slowly reveals.

    From images suspended without being immobile, full of breath and breathing, emerge these strange and sometimes rough emotions, the kind felt by the uprooted. Love and worry, detachment and attachment, the critical gaze and unconditional tenderness, the link with childhood which is different for each person, inseparable from a place, smells, tastes, colours that we have left behind, that no longer belong to us but which have made up who we are. It is impossible not to feel on a tightrope all the time, torn between what is the past and those future choices which have taken us elsewhere, between impalpable but omnipresent memories, old and new. 

    Some take their childhood with them. They stay attached to it. It serves them as a pendulum. They fall in line with a continuity which they pass on to their own offspring. Others are cut off from it. How does that affect the view we have of our own personal history? And in an even broader sense, what incidence does it have on the view we have of History? Are we automatically more adult having left behind us the traces, memories and attachments to childhood? Does leaving your community equal a rite of passage? 

    Childhood is supposed to form us. And yet. When we cut ourselves off from our roots, it’s our own experiences that predominate. We forge our identity precisely through the outlook which detaches us. Childhood thus takes on a taste both sweet and sour, even perturbing, and the link with childhood develops in this detachment like a battle between what we have been, what we would have liked to have been and what we would like to be.

    Brigitte Bauer offers us her sensitive perspective on this highly delicate and fragile process of detachment, of becoming adult and of growing into freedom. 

    From reference to traditions to the impact of the religious (whether empty or full), from tastes and smells of one’s land to spaces conquered by the force of dream, from the continuity of life with all its glitches, from the scrutiny without concession that nature subjects us to, everything is evoked and is rooted in our own emotions: liberty is a fragile space which should never lock tenderness and attention in too tight a stranglehold. 

    Annakarin Quinto, April 2017

Pour accéder à toutes les fonctionnalités de ce site, vous devez activer JavaScript. Voici les instructions pour activer JavaScript dans votre navigateur Web. Brigitte Bauer - Haus Hof Land

Haus Hof Land
Lire le texte | Diaporama | Retour à la galerie


  • Les images de Brigitte Bauer n'ont d'autre artifice que l'intention. Et un cadre dont elle a seule le secret. Il semble constamment s'en échapper des émotions, des histoires, des non-dits, des révélations et parfois l'aspiration vers un ailleurs indéfini.

    Après le livre D'Allemagne publié en 2003, ce nouvel ensemble de photographies inédites est proposé sous le titre de Haus Hof Land (maison ferme pays). Cela pourrait sembler plus intime et plus personnel. Il n'en est rien. Au contraire. La distance croît. La pudeur se développe. Et le détachement laisse toute la place au spectateur qui peut y lire, voir découvrir, son propre parcours. Le regard tient lieu de révélation.

    Des images suspendues sans être immobiles, pleines de souffle et de respirations, émergent ces émotions étranges et parfois âpres que ressentent les déracinés. L'amour et l'inquiétude, le détachement et l'attachement, le regard critique et la tendresse inconditionnelle, le lien avec l'enfance qui se fait différemment, indissociable d'un lieu, d'odeurs, de saveurs, de couleurs que nous avons quittées, qui ne nous appartiennent plus mais qui ont fait ce que nous sommes. Impossible de ne pas constamment se sentir sur un fil, tiraillés entre ce qui est du passé et les choix d'avenir qui nous ont mené ailleurs, entre souvenirs impalpables mais omniprésents, lointains et proches.

    Certains emportent leur enfance avec eux. Ils y restent attachés. Elle leur sert de balancier. Ils s'inscrivent dans une continuité qu'ils transmettent à leur propre progéniture. D'autres en sont coupés. Quelles incidences cela a-t-il sur le regard que l'on porte sur notre histoire. Et plus vaste encore, quelle incidence cela a-t-il sur le regard que l'on porte sur l'Histoire ? Est-on de force plus adultes ayant abandonné derrière soi les traces, souvenirs, attachements de l'enfance ? Le départ de sa communauté vaut-il rite initiatique ?

    L'enfance est censée nous construire. Et pourtant. Lorsqu'on se coupe de nos racines, ce sont nos propres expériences qui prédominent. Nous nous construisons par le regard même qui nous détache. L'enfance prend ainsi une saveur douce-amère, même inquiétante, et le lien à l'enfance se développe dans ce détachement comme une bataille entre ce que nous avons été, ce qu'on aurait voulu que nous soyons et ce que nous voulons être.

    Brigitte Bauer nous propose son regard sensible sur ce processus si délicat et fragile du détachement, du passage à l'âge adulte, de l'accomplissement de la liberté.

    De la référence aux traditions à l'impact du religieux (en creux ou en plein), des saveurs et odeurs de la terre de chez soi aux espaces conquis par la force du rêve, de la continuité de la vie avec tous ses accrocs, du regard sans concession que la nature pose sur nous, tout est évoqué et s'enracine dans nos propres émotions: la liberté est un espace fragile qui ne devrait jamais enfermer la tendresse et l'attention dans des carcans trop étroits.                                       

    Annakarin Quinto, avril 2017


    Haus Hof Land
    Lire le texte | Retour à la galerie

    HHL 01, 1987-2017

     formats et supports variables



    HHL 03, 1987-2017

    formats et supports variables



    HHL 08, 1987-2017

    formats et supports variables



    HHL 13, 1987-2017

    formats et supports variables



    HHL 14, 1987-2017

    formats et supports variables



    HHL 16, 1987-2017

    formats et supports variables



    HHL 20, 1987-2017

    formats et supports variables



    HHL 22, 1987-2017

    formats et supports variables



    HHL 27, 1987-2017

    formats et supports variables



    HHL 30, 1987-2017

    formats et supports variables



    HHL 31, 1987-2017

    formats et supports variables



    HHL 33, 1987-2017

    formats et supports variables



    HHL 34, 1987-2017

    formats et supports variables



    HHL 38, 1987-2017

    formats et supports variables



    HHL 40, 1987-2017

    formats et supports variables



    HHL 41, 1987-2017

    formats et supports variables



    HHL 43, 1987-2017

    formats et supports variables



    HHL 49, 1987-2017

    formats et supports variables



    HHL 54, 1987-2017

    formats et supports variables



    HHL 55, 1987-2017

    formats et supports variables



    HHL 58, 1987-2017

    formats et supports variables



    HHL 60, 1987-2017

    formats et supports variables



    HHL 64, 1987-2017

    formats et supports variables



    HHL 66, 1987-2017

    formats et supports variables



    Haus Hof Land
    1987-2017

    Les images de Brigitte Bauer n'ont d'autre artifice que l'intention. Et un cadre dont elle a seule le secret. Il semble constamment s'en échapper des émotions, des histoires, des non-dits, des révélations et parfois l'aspiration vers un ailleurs indéfini.

    Après le livre D'Allemagne publié en 2003, ce nouvel ensemble de photographies inédites est proposé sous le titre de Haus Hof Land (maison ferme pays). Cela pourrait sembler plus intime et plus personnel. Il n'en est rien. Au contraire. La distance croît. La pudeur se développe. Et le détachement laisse toute la place au spectateur qui peut y lire, voir découvrir, son propre parcours. Le regard tient lieu de révélation.

    Des images suspendues sans être immobiles, pleines de souffle et de respirations, émergent ces émotions étranges et parfois âpres que ressentent les déracinés. L'amour et l'inquiétude, le détachement et l'attachement, le regard critique et la tendresse inconditionnelle, le lien avec l'enfance qui se fait différemment, indissociable d'un lieu, d'odeurs, de saveurs, de couleurs que nous avons quittées, qui ne nous appartiennent plus mais qui ont fait ce que nous sommes. Impossible de ne pas constamment se sentir sur un fil, tiraillés entre ce qui est du passé et les choix d'avenir qui nous ont mené ailleurs, entre souvenirs impalpables mais omniprésents, lointains et proches.

    Certains emportent leur enfance avec eux. Ils y restent attachés. Elle leur sert de balancier. Ils s'inscrivent dans une continuité qu'ils transmettent à leur propre progéniture. D'autres en sont coupés. Quelles incidences cela a-t-il sur le regard que l'on porte sur notre histoire. Et plus vaste encore, quelle incidence cela a-t-il sur le regard que l'on porte sur l'Histoire ? Est-on de force plus adultes ayant abandonné derrière soi les traces, souvenirs, attachements de l'enfance ? Le départ de sa communauté vaut-il rite initiatique ?

    L'enfance est censée nous construire. Et pourtant. Lorsqu'on se coupe de nos racines, ce sont nos propres expériences qui prédominent. Nous nous construisons par le regard même qui nous détache. L'enfance prend ainsi une saveur douce-amère, même inquiétante, et le lien à l'enfance se développe dans ce détachement comme une bataille entre ce que nous avons été, ce qu'on aurait voulu que nous soyons et ce que nous voulons être.

    Brigitte Bauer nous propose son regard sensible sur ce processus si délicat et fragile du détachement, du passage à l'âge adulte, de l'accomplissement de la liberté.

    De la référence aux traditions à l'impact du religieux (en creux ou en plein), des saveurs et odeurs de la terre de chez soi aux espaces conquis par la force du rêve, de la continuité de la vie avec tous ses accrocs, du regard sans concession que la nature pose sur nous, tout est évoqué et s'enracine dans nos propres émotions: la liberté est un espace fragile qui ne devrait jamais enfermer la tendresse et l'attention dans des carcans trop étroits.                                       

    Annakarin Quinto, avril 2017